Do Vitamin D Supplements Help with Diabetes, Weight Loss, and Blood Pressure?

maxresdefault



Those with higher vitamin D levels tend to have lower rates of obesity, diabetes, and hypertension but is it cause and effect? Interventional trials finally put vitamin D to the test.

What does the latest research on Vitamin D say? Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org’s free newsletter to receive an infographic summary of the main takeaways and Dr. Greger’s recommendations: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/

This is the first of a six-part video series on the latest in vitamin D. Stay tuned for:
• Will You Live Longer if You Take Vitamin D Supplements? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/will-you-live-longer-if-you-take-vitamin-D-supplements)
• How Much Vitamin D Should You Take? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-much-vitamin-D-should-you-take)
• The Optimal Dose of Vitamin D Based on Natural Levels (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-optimal-dose-of-vitamin-D-based-on-natural-levels)
• The Best Way to Get Vitamin D: Sun, Supplements, or Salons? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-best-way-to-get-vitamin-D-sun-supplements-or-salons)
• The Risks and Benefits of Sensible Sun Exposure (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-risks-and-benefits-of-sensible-sun-exposure)

Supplements (no specific Vitamin E or beta carotene):
• Creatine Brain Fuel Supplementation (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/creatine-brain-fuel-supplementation/)
• Garden Variety Anti-Inflammation (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/garden-variety-anti-inflammation/)
• Health Food Store Supplement Advice (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/health-food-store-supplement-advice/)
• Bad Advice From Health Food Store Employees (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/bad-advice-from-health-food-store-employees/)
• Dangerous Advice From Health Food Store Employees (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dangerous-advice-from-health-food-store-employees/)
• Pharmacists Versus Health Food Store Employees: Who Gives Better Advice? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/pharmacists-versus-health-food-store-employees-who-gives-better-advice/)
• Dietary Supplement Snake Oil (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dietary-supplement-snake-oil/)
• Heavy Metals in Protein Powder Supplements (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/heavy-metals-in-protein-powder-supplements/)
• Some Dietary Supplements May Be More Than a Waste of Money (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/some-dietary-supplements-may-be-more-than-a-waste-of-money/)
• Risk Associated With Iron Supplements (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/risk-associated-with-iron-supplements/)
• Diet Pills Do Fat a Lot of Good (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/diet-pills-do-a-fat-lot-of-good/)
• Is Vitamin D3 Better Than D2? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-vitamin-d3-better-than-d2/)
• Infant Seizures Linked to Mother’s Spirulina Use (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/infant-seizures-linked-to-mothers-spirulina-use/)
• Should We Take a Multivitamin? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/should-we-take-a-multivitamin/)
• Food Antioxidants and Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/food-antioxidants-and-cancer/)
• Food Antioxidants, Stroke, and Heart Disease (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/food-antioxidants-stroke-and-heart-disease/)
• Treating Asthma With Plants vs. Supplements? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/treating-asthma-with-plants-vs-supplements/)
• Plants as Intellectual Property – Patently Wrong? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/plants-as-intellectual-property-patently-wrong/)
• Broccoli: Sprouts vs. Supplements (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/broccoli-sprouts-vs-supplements/)
• Antioxidants and Depression (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidants-and-depression/)
• Are Calcium Supplements Safe? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-calcium-supplements-safe)
• Are Calcium Supplements Effective? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-calcium-supplements-effective)
• Industry Response to Plants Not Pills (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/industry-response-to-plants-not-pills)
• Resveratrol Impairs Exercise Benefits (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/resveratrol-impairs-exercise-benefits)
• Vitamin C Supplements for Terminal Cancer Patients (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/vitamin-c-supplements-for-terminal-cancer-patients)

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/do-vit-d-supplements-help-diabetes-weight-loss-blood-pressure and he’ll try to answer it!

Image Credit: mojzagrebinfo via Pixabay.

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: www.instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org
• Books (including the NEW How Not to Diet Cookbook): https://nutritionfacts.org/books
• Shop: https://drgreger.org

source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *