Flashback Friday: Do Vitamin D Supplements Help with Diabetes, Weight Loss, and Blood Pressure?

maxresdefault



Those with higher vitamin D levels tend to have lower rates of obesity, diabetes, and hypertension, but is it cause and effect? Interventional trials finally put vitamin D to the test.

What does the latest research on Vitamin D say? Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org’s free newsletter to receive an infographic summary of the main takeaways and Dr. Greger’s recommendations: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/

This video is the first of a six-part series on the latest in vitamin D, which includes:
• Will You Live Longer if You Take Vitamin D Supplements? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/will-you-live-longer-if-you-take-vitamin-D-supplements)
• How Much Vitamin D Should You Take? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-much-vitamin-D-should-you-take)
• The Optimal Dose of Vitamin D Based on Natural Levels (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-optimal-dose-of-vitamin-D-based-on-natural-levels)
• The Best Way to Get Vitamin D: Sun, Supplements, or Salons? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-best-way-to-get-vitamin-D-sun-supplements-or-salons)
• The Risks and Benefits of Sensible Sun Exposure (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-risks-and-benefits-of-sensible-sun-exposure)

And check out these other videos on vitamin D’s potential benefits:
• The Best Supplement for Fibromyalgia (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-best-supplement-for-fibromyalgia/)
• Vitamin D for Inflammatory Bowel Disease (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/vitamin-d-for-inflammatory-bowel-disease/)
• Vitamin D for Asthma (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/vitamin-d-for-asthma/)
• Vegetarians and Stroke Risk Factors—Vitamin D? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/vegetarians-and-stroke-risk-factors-vitamin-d/)

For additional videos on supplements, see:
• Dietary Supplement Snake Oil (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/dietary-supplement-snake-oil/)
• Some Dietary Supplements May Be More Than a Waste of Money (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/some-dietary-supplements-may-be-more-than-a-waste-of-money/)
• Risk Associated with Iron Supplements (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/risk-associated-with-iron-supplements/)
• Treating Asthma with Plants vs. Supplements? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/treating-asthma-with-plants-vs-supplements/)
• Broccoli: Sprouts vs. Supplements (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/broccoli-sprouts-vs-supplements/)
• Antioxidants and Depression (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidants-and-depression/)
• Are Calcium Supplements Safe? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-calcium-supplements-safe)
• Are Calcium Supplements Effective? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-calcium-supplements-effective)
• Industry Response to Plants Not Pills (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/industry-response-to-plants-not-pills)
• Resveratrol Impairs Exercise Benefits (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/resveratrol-impairs-exercise-benefits)
• Lycopene Supplements vs. Prostate Cancer (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/lycopene-supplements-vs-prostate-cancer/)
• Dangers of Dietary Supplement Deregulation (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/dangers-of-dietary-supplement-deregulation/)
• Do Vitamin C Supplements Prevent Colds But Cause Kidney Stones? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/dangers-of-dietary-supplement-deregulation/)
• Black Raspberry Supplements Put to the Test (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/black-raspberry-supplements-put-to-the-test/)
• Dietary Supplements for Autism (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/dietary-supplements-for-autism/)

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-do-vitamin-d-supplements-help-with-diabetes-weight-loss-and-blood-pressure and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at https://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-do-vitamin-d-supplements-help-with-diabetes-weight-loss-and-blood-pressure. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgements for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages; you can find yours in the video settings.

Image credit: mojzagrebinfo/Pixabay

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: www.instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org
• Books (including the NEW How Not to Diet Cookbook): https://nutritionfacts.org/books
• Shop: https://drgreger.org

source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *